Mama Elephant April Stampede

APRIL_zps88aa7f5eWelcome to the Mama Elephant April Design Team blog hop! Our April release is now live and available for purchase in the store:www.mamaelephant.com.

To celebrate the new release, Mama Elephant is giving away 3 gift certificates worth $20.00 each to 3 lucky people! Winners will be chosen at random from the collective blogs in the Stampede. Winners will be announced on the blog on Friday, April 19th.

Here’s how to qualify to win (leave a separate comment for each):

1. Leave a comment on this blog post
2. Become a follower of our blog
3. Like/share us on Facebook:http://facebook.com/mamaelephant
4. Follow/tweet about us on Twitter:http://twitter.com/heymamaelephant

I created a card using  an image and a sentiment from Tree Friends stamp set. I gave color to this card using distress inks that I applied with something called embossing brushes (that’s the name on the package I have). These brushes are  kind of  small sponge daubers,  like foam brushes, but tiny. So that’s why the colors are off the black lines… It was fun  just to try something different. I finished my card with glossy accents and mini gemstones 🙂 I also made a video of it… so if you want to watch it, you will find it at the end of this post 🙂

041313web_hello

You should have come here from  Lisa Spangler‘s blog, and now you’re ready to visit Lea Lawson

If you just got here and would like to join the stampede, here is the complete list of participating blogs:

Kryssi Ng / Mama Elephant 
Lisa Spangler (guest designer!)
you are here>>>Mariana Grigsby<<< you are here
Lea Lawson
Alice Wertz
Elena Roussakis (guest designer!)
Geralyn Sy
Savannah O’Gwynn
Cheiron Brandon
Pamela Ho (guest designer!)
Jenn Biederman
Pearl Lui
JJ Bolton

Please don’t forget that you can always start over at the Mama Elephant blog.

Thanks for stopping by :) Have great  week!

Please notice that my comment link for this post is located at the beginning of this post, right below the title↑↑↑ 

62 thoughts on “Mama Elephant April Stampede

  1. It was interesting to read your post as I thought the coloring had been done using chalks! But this sounds fun! Where do you buy these brushes? I love distress inks! This is beautiful!!

    • I bought mine at Archivers (I think). You can click on the word “embossing brushes” so you can see how the package looks, and I am not sure but I think they are also sold under the name of Foam brushes… I am sure you can find them at any big craft store.

  2. oh wow!! FUUUUUUN technique!!! i LOVE it! and it’s especially perfect for that GORGEOUS tree image!! your card is beautiful!! love the little added detail with the gemstone! it’s the perfect little touch of bling!

  3. Pingback: Hello, Friend

  4. Your card is terrific! I love the colors on the kraft stock — and thank you for enabling me to have to buy the little brushes so I can try this technique! 🙂

Leave a comment