She Was a Good Mom.

Last week I went to Mexico to say goodbye to my mom. It was very hard and sad. I think about those moments, and tears start pouring. There are no words to describe this sadness.

mgmom1931_20162

I talked to her on the phone for the last time on New Years. Her voice sounded fine and strong, but I guess her heart was weak. She passed away suddenly on the 8th. I owe her a lot. She taught me to love animals,  to cook improvising and also to change the recipes. I remember her always doing something with her hands: sewing, knitting, painting. She taught me all that too.

She was very talented. She loved painting using watercolors, but she was always willing to try different techniques.  She collected a bunch of pictures from magazines or books, and kept them in a big folder, which was her inspiration folder. When I was living in Mexico, close to her, we used to get together and paint. Those were precious moments. She seems to be a very serious person, but in reality she had a very good sense of humor, and a big heart.  I loved that about her. Anyway, she had more than one hundred and fifty paintings, and  I want to share a few of them…

LEONOR92

LEONOR93

LEONOR99

LEONOR12

The next painting, I brought it with me. She painted it last month. It was one of her last ones.

LEONOR15

She will remain in my heart forever. Her name was Leonor, and she was a good mom, she was my mom.

Thanks for stopping by,

marianasignat

29 thoughts on “She Was a Good Mom.

  1. Your Mom’s art is amazing and inspiring. I love her painting! You obviously have inherited her talent. I am so very sorry to hear this sad news. No words can describe your sorrow…you are in my thoughts and prayers. Sending big big hugs, Mariana!

  2. This was a beautiful post. Your Motber was so talented! I am so very sorry for your loss. Losing a parent, especially your Mother is one of the hardest things in the world. (Sadly I know this first hand.) I will pray for you to find peace and comfort during this time of grief and sorrow.

  3. Mariana, thank you for sharing your mother’s lovely paintings, as well as your loving tribute to her. I am so sorry for the pain of your loss and send you my sincere condolences.
    Losing one’s mother is one of the most difficult times in life, as I know from having lost my own. My mother was also an artist, and I take great comfort in having her paintings in our home, for they somehow seem like a form of her presence.When we keep gentle watch over the precious things our mothers made with their own hands, it seems to me our mothers come close to us, as if those paintings are an extension of the hands that once held us, taught us, consoled us. I suspect that, like mine, your mama’s paintings will be an embodiment of the memories you have of her and the beauty she valued in her lifetime, now bequeathed to you for your care.
    I pray that you’ll find much comfort in your mother’s colorful paintings, confident that she is now safe and whole in a new realm filled with unimaginable beauty and great joy.
    Sent with love and prayers for your solace, Ann.
    . .

  4. My heart goes out to you and your family, Mariana!! What a beautiful person she was and her paintings are incredible! So many hugs to you and prayers for strength as you remember her amazing life!

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. Hope the memories you have will keep you safe during these difficult times. She was a great artist and we can see from who you got your talent. Once again, my deepest condolences. All my love, M

  6. My heart goes out to you, Mariana. Losing one’s mother is one of the most difficult times in anyone’s life. You have my sincere condolences and prayers that you’ll be comforted by your mother’s beautiful, colorful paintings that are now entrusted to your care as precious manifestations of her creativity. In your own artful creations, you’ll see your mother again and again, for her blessing of artistry is also yours. With love, Ann.

  7. Mariana, what a beautiful, but sad, post. Clearly she had fantastic talent. The painting with the watermelon just speaks to me. And clearly part of her lives on in you. There is something so incredibly sad about losing one’s mother. My heartfelt sympathies.

  8. Mariana, it’s clear that your mom was beautiful, talented and a precious mom. You only have to look at the beautiful daughter she has raised to know she was one of the best for sure. Best wishes with your grieving and memory period. Your mom surely has left many beautiful memories for you. T xx

  9. What a beautiful post, clearly her talents live on in you. I am so very sorry for your loss, Mariana. You are in my heart and my prayers. ♥

  10. Mariana, tears in my eyes when I read your post. Such a beautiful way to remember her by dedicatin this post for her. She left prints in your life that you’ll always see and remember, stories to tell your next generations, and treasures to keep.

    Praying for you in this time of lost.

    ((Hugs))

  11. What a beautiful tribute to your mom. So sorry for your loss. Her paintings are wonderful. Keep her in your heart – you will never be far away from her.

  12. I’m so sorry to hear of your Mom’s sudden passing. Thank you for sharing her paintings with us. They’re amazing! I can see where you got your talent from. Take care, sweet friend.

  13. Mariana I am so very sorry for your loss. Your mom sounds like an amazing woman, and so very talented. It’s clear you inherited a lot of that from her. I’m sure you will treasure that painting. Much love to you. xo

  14. Mariana, Thank you for sharing your mother’s art and your memories of her with us. You were blessed to have her as she was blessed to have you. I firmly believe as long as we honor the memory our loved ones never leave us. Please accept my condolences.

  15. So sorry for your loss. Your mothers art is beautiful…she lives very clearly in you and her art. Thank you for sharing her with us. Sending you my thoughts and prayers.

  16. I am so sorry for your loss…
    Your mothers art work is simply, stunning. And you certainly have her gift as well. Your mother will always live on…take care of yourself and lots of hugs.

Leave a Reply

