Another Card [You’re Special]

Hey!

Just popping in to share a card that I created using a new technique for me: Embossing Paste. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this technique, so I searched the internet for an option to create your own embossing paste. Well, I found a couple of posts about it and you can see them HERE and HERE. Both articles include list of materials and instructions (the first one also includes a sample and pictures).  No worries, you don’t have to create anything, you can find the materials easily in the store.  So besides the supplies that I bought: Lightweight spackling and a paint spatula, I also bought a couple of stencils in the local craft store and I created this kind of serious card🙂

021214web_yourespecial

The results are great; I specially like the dimension you can achieve… and no, I did not forget about the theme of this month… the petals of my flowers are hearts🙂 and I also used heart shaped gems. The sentiment is by Jane’s Doodles and belongs to a set called: Daffodils.  The flowers were created with my Silhouette and Illustrator. I will share the shape soon.

Well,  the products I used for the background of my card are these…DSC_1658

You can change the color of the spackling paste by adding a bit of the chalk powder (Scrape slightly some of your chalk bars with a craft knife). I changed the color in another sample and I also added glittery embossing powder, but… I don’t really like working with glitter… You shine all day! I like the results, though…

DSC_1637

 Just remember: you have to clean your stencil and spatula with water right away after you use them, to prevent  the paste to ruin them. Well, if you are curious like me about this technique… You can  give it a try… maybe your hubby already have the materials in his garage🙂

Thanks for stopping by :) Have a wonderful crafty rest of the week!

marianasignat

6 thoughts on “Another Card [You’re Special]

  1. I love love your take with the textured background! What a gorgeous card, Mariana! I was at Michael’s today and I noticed that they have SO many Heidi S. stencils!! Time to use those coupons🙂

  2. Love your card. I used paste a long time ago, but with brass stencils. I don’t have any of the plastic ones, will have to invest in some. Clever idea using spackling paste. I still have my embossing paste from a long time ago and I think it is still good. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

